Wyoming State Flag Gifts & Merchandise

Date of Statehood: July 10, 1890

Capital: Cheyenne

Population: 563,626 (2010)

Size: 97,812 square miles

Nickname(s): Big Wyoming; Equality State; Cowboy State

Motto: Equal Rights

Tree: Plains Cottonwood

Flower: Indian Paintbrush

Bird: Meadowlark

Wyoming Timeline
  • 1803 - Much of Wyoming is purchased by the United States from France in the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1807 - John Colter explores Wyoming and discovers the Yellowstone region.
  • 1834 - The first permanent settlement, Fort Laramie, is established.
  • 1846 - The U.S. gains the southwest portion of Wyoming from Great Britain as part of the Oregon Treaty.
  • 1867 - The Union Pacific Railroad reaches the city of Cheyenne which was established earlier that year.
  • 1869 - The Wyoming Territory is formed.
  • 1869 - Women gain the right to vote in the Wyoming Territory. It is the first U.S. territory or state to grant women suffrage.
  • 1872 - Yellowstone National Park is established by President Ulysses S. Grant. It is the first national park.
  • 1890 - Wyoming becomes the 44th U.S. state.
  • 1892 - The Johnson County War occurs between small local ranchers and powerful large land owners.
  • 1895 - Buffalo Bill Cody helps establish the city of Cody.
  • 1906 - Devil's Tower is the first declared United States National Monument.
  • 1925 - Nellie Tayloe Ross becomes the first woman governor of a U.S. state.

Sorry, there are no products in this collection